Joconde imprime and productive procrastination.

Joconde imprime and productive procrastination.

With the stress of study week upon me, my thoughts of course turned to baking. Cooking has always been my escape, especially when I have other more important things to do! I like to think of it as ‘productive procrastination’, as at least I’m learning something…. right?

Last weekend I stumbled upon the daring bakers Jan 2011 challenge – the Joconde imprime entretment. I know, I know, almost 3 years late. A joconde imprime is “a decorative design baked into a light sponge cake providing an elegant finish to desserts/torts/entremets/ formed in ring molds.” Instead of making several small desserts, I decided that one huge dessert would be more suitable for my brothers birthday.

An entrement is a layer dessert. Mine contained the following:
– Biscuit Joconde
– Dark Chocolate Ganache
– White Chocolate Cremeux
– Cocoa Genoise
– Salted Pecan and Corn-flake Bark
– Salted Caramel Mousse
– Cocoa Glace

I was inspired by Parsley, Sage & Sweet and her divine chocolate and peanut butter version (which can be found here – http://parsleysagesweet.com/2011/02/01/biscuit-joconde-imprimeentremet-peanut-butter-and-chocolate-all-decked-out/)

All in all, delicious, and totally worth the time. Now, back to study I go!

– E

Leave a Reply

